Two new books read

I can now update my 2017 Book List with two new entries (Neither of which is 120 Days of Sodom, although I am still reading that). One is a pretty cool science book, which you will hopefully hear more about in the not-too-distant future, and the other just a childrens’ book that I read for fan reasons.

Rigor Mortis (2017) by Richard Harris

This is a really good book. It describes the various causes of sloppy science, the motivations for them and even some of the solutions (which are often ignored). It’s really informative and entertaining to read even though it’s also extremely depressing.

There are multiple issues with the way that science is done and surprisingly little motivation to address them. There are lots of reasons for this and they have been written about at length in both the scientific and popular press. Sometimes it’s to do with money, sometimes it’s do with image and sometimes it’s to do with incentives. In the end, it just means a huge amount of time and money is wasted and that alone should be a reason for anyone interested in science to care about it.

I would highly recommend that everyone with an interest in science reads this book but it should be mandatory reading for everyone that works in research. While people will disagree on the scale of the problem, there is undeniably a problem and we need to be aware of it and make some sort of effort to address it.

Daring Do and the Forbidden City of Clouds (2014) by A. K. Yearling (G. M. Berrow)

The Daring Do stories are actually from My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic but, when I heard that there were three actual books, I decided I should give them a read. This is the first one I tried and I was able to finish it in very little time (unsurprising considering the target audience), so perhaps I will read the other two quite soon.

It’s been quite some time since I read something aimed so young so I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect. It didn’t start out very well but it did actually improve towards the middle, though the ending was a bit of a disappointment. In the show, the books are supposed to be filled with action and/or puzzle solving but this one had neither. It had a couple of cool ideas but suffered from poor motivation, a lack of character development and a lack of any real conflict. I suppose it’s better for its age group or for fans of the show. Hopefully the others will offer more.

One thought on “Two new books read

  1. Pingback: Book list 2017 | Evidence & Reason

Leave a Reply

