Flowering plants

As I will be leaving to study and do research in Austria tomorrow, I am going to have say goodbye to my plants. I plan to spread them around the family though so they should hopefully be well cared for. I did take some pictures recently when they were flowering and feel it’s worth sharing them.

I still have both the plants I got after my honours year and you can read more about them in my original post. The Delosperma echinatum hasn’t flowered much and I don’t have a new picture of it. I think that was because it got pushed off the window sill by my other pots and perhaps doesn’t get as much sun as it would like. The Mesembryanthemum crystallinum is still as sparkly as ever, though I don’t think anyone will be prepared to harvest the seeds every year. I do have some stored, however, and I’ll ask that it doesn’t get thrown away when it dies.

M. crystallinum flower

M. crystallinum flower

M. crystallinum flower

M. crystallinum flower

Unfortunately, I lost the possible stapelia from my EDRR field trip, the others have done really well and I even have spread the first unknown into two pots.

Unknown, now filling its pot and flowering

Unknown, now filling its pot and flowering

Close up of the flowers

Close up of the flowers

Unknown, now much bigger than before.

Unknown, now much bigger than before.

Unknown's tiny flower.

Unknown’s tiny flower.

Some of my outdoor plants, shown here and here, are still alive and flowering, although I don’t have any pictures. Sadly, I might have forgotten to water them for too long (that’s why the small pots are on the bathroom window sill) and the sour figs do not look very good right now. Those outdoor pots have been attached to the watering system so hopefully they will recover.

Leave a Reply

