Alice in Wonderland

I kinda like reading classics. After-all they’re classics so they must have had a certain standard and have influenced people long after they were published. I’ve managed to read a couple both when I was in high school and more recently. I’ve done White Fang, Call of the Wild, On the Origin of the Species, 20 000 leagues under the sea, Winnie the Pooh and so on. I’ve also got others in my reading queue like Gone with the Wind and Robinson Crusoe. I’m actually about half-way through Robinson Crusoe, and have been for the last few years. It might be a classic but it’s really hard reading.

In any case one of the books I’ve been wanting to read is Alice in Wonderland (or the two books that make up that story). That seed was planted when I was just a little kid and was given a copy of Disney’s animated Alice in Wonderland. I watched that quite a few times. Later that interest was boosted by the, much-darker, video game, American McGee’s Alice and the modern Alice in Wonderland film by Tim Burton. Despite all this I’d never read the books.

On a recent trip to a bookshop I noticed a section on classics where the books were extremely cheap, no doubt as the copyrights would have expired, and I considered getting Alice’s Advenentures in Wonderland. I didn’t then but when I returned yesterday I did, as well as finding Through the Looking Glass. What was interesting though was the pricing. I got the two for R65 (one for R40 and one for R25). At a nearby bookshop, they had one of them for about R40 or both in a single volume for R140! I was shocked but glad I checked where I knew they were cheaper as I got them for half the price of the other store.

I’m not sure where to put them in my reading queue though. My next two books have already been decided, You Can’t Read this Book and Inheritance.

Leave a Reply

